Who won the first world cup?


The very first world cup was played from 13 July to 30 July 1930 and was hosted by Uruguay. With 13 teams taking part, it seems the luck was with the home team as Uruguay claimed the top spot after beating Argentina 4 – 2. The United States and Yugoslavia were placed third and fourth respectively.

Italy hosted and went on to win the second world cup and also won the third tournament in France. With four wins, the Italian team comes second only to Brazil who have won the trophy a total of five times and will host the World Cup this year.